Onil Bhattacharyya

Onil Bhattacharyya 

Onil Bhattacharyya is the Frigon-Blau Chair in Family Medicine Research and a Family Physician at Toronto’s Women’s College Hospital. Additionally, he is an Associate Professor in the University of Toronto’s Department of Family and Community Medicine. He has a PhD in health policy management and evaluation from the University in Toronto and completed a fellowship in international health at the Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Bhattacharyya will focus his fellowship on developing innovative models of care to better meet the needs of complex patients with multiple chronic conditions.

Eyal Cohen

Eyal Cohen 

Eyal Cohen is Staff Physician in the Division of Pediatric Medicine at The Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, also known as SickKids. Dr. Cohen is also an Associate Scientist at SickKids’ Research Institute for Child Health Evaluative Sciences. Additionally, he is Associate Professor in the University of Toronto’s Department of Pediatrics, Institute of Health Policy and The Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing. During his fellowship, Dr. Cohen will expand on his foundational work to better serve the growing number of children with complex medical conditions, who represent less than one percent of all children but account for one-third of health spending on children.

Scott Robertson

Scott Robertson 

Senior Project Manager for the medical travel program in the Northwest Territories’ Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS). Robertson, played a pivotal role in CFHI’s Chronic Disease Management collaboration with the Northwest Territories DHSS and is developing programming for other CFHI initiatives, particularly the Northern, Rural or Remote Collaboration. He has extensive operational, policy, and econometric experience to support healthcare improvement in northern and remote areas of Canada. He has a Masters degree in Health Economics and Policy and was previously the Chief Nursing Officer for the NWT and Action Canada Fellow.

Fiona Clement

Fiona Clement 

Director of the Health Technology Assessment Unit at the University of Calgary. Dr. Fiona Clement completed her PhD in Health Services Research with a specialization in Health Economics at the University of Calgary. Additionally, she completed a Post-doctoral fellowship at the University of Newcastle (UK), supported by CFHI and Alberta Innovates – Health Solutions. Her research interests include Health Technology Assessment, methods to achieve optimal use of technology (Health Technology Reassessment) and drug policy including reimbursement decision-making processes and system cost-containment measures.

Christopher Hayes image

Christopher Hayes 

Christopher Hayes has led a distinguished career at St. Michael’s since 2005. He is also an assistant professor at the University of Toronto’s Department of Medicine and its Institute for Health Policy, Management and Evaluation. Since 2008, he has been a medical officer at the Canadian Patient Safety Institute where he leads patient safety and quality initiatives. There, he has led research projects on rapid response teams, central line programs and ventilator bundle programs.

Jason Sunderland image

Jason Sutherland, Ph.D.

Jason Sutherland is an assistant professor in health services and policy research at the University of British Columbia. He also acts as a consultant to the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care in Toronto, and as a scholar-in-residence with the British Columbia Ministry of Health. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of British Columbia, Sutherland was an assistant professor and director of data and analytic core at the Center for Health Policy Research at Dartmouth Institute. 


Robert Fowler

MDCM, an associate professor at the University of Toronto and an associate scientist, at Sunnybrook Research Institute

Project Title: Comparing Intensity of Care Received at the End of Life in the United States and Canada

Walter P. Wodchis

PhD, an associate professor at the University of Toronto

Project Title: Managing Risk Among Older Adults with Medical and Home Care Needs


Sara Kreindler
Researcher, Research and evaluation unit, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority and assistant professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Project Title: Social Processes in Implementing Accountable Care Organizations

Michael Schull
Director, Division of emergency medicine, and associate professor in the departments of medicine and health policy, management, and evaluation, at the University of Toronto. Senior Scientist, Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences and at the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Research Institute.

Project Title: Hospitalization and ER Use in Networked and Integrated Primary Care Systems


Kimberlyn McGrail  

Assistant Professor, School of Population and Public Health
Associate Director, Centre for Health Services and Policy Research
University of British Columbia

Project Title: Policies to Reduce Variations in Health Care Services Use and Outcomes


Patricia O'Connor

Associate Director of Nursing (Neurosciences) and Co-Director of Best Practices Program. Department of Nursing, McGill University Health Centre

Mark Dobrow

Scientist, Cancer Services & Policy Research Unit, Cancer Care Ontario and Assistant Professor, Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, University of Toronto


Neil J. MacKinnon

Associate Professor and Associate Director for Research, College of Pharmacy, Dalhousie University

Claudia Sanmartin

Senior Research Analyst, Health Analysis and Measurement Group, Statistics Canada


Laurel Taylor

Post-doctoral fellow, Department of Medicine, McGill University

Diane Watson

Director, Research and Analysis, Health Council of Canada


Julia Abelson

Associate Professor, Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, McMaster University, Hamilton

Denis Roy

Director, Information and Knowledge Management, Montérégie local health and social services network development agency (Direction de l'information et de l'aide à la décision, Agence de réseaux locaux de sercices de santé et de services sociaux de la Montérégie)


Jean-Marie Berthelot

Manager, Statistics Canada, Ottawa

Richard Scott

Associate Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary


Alexandre Sirois

Health Journalist, La Presse, Montreal

Jack Ven Tu

Staff Physician, Division of General Internal Medicine, Sunnybrook and Women's College Health Science Centre; Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto; Senior Scientist, Institute for Clinical and Evaluative Sciences (ICES)


Doreen Neville

ScD, Assistant Professor of Health Policy/Care Delivery, Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland, former Chief Executive Officer, Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Health Information

Jennifer Zelmer

PhD (in progress), MA, Director, Health Reports and Analysis, Canadian Institute for Health Information


John Lavis

MD, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, McMaster University, member of the Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis at McMaster University, Scientist and Associate Research Director (Strategy) at the Institute for Work and Health, and the Liberty Health Scholar in the Population Health program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, Hamilton, Ontario

Steve Morgan

PhD, Canadian Institutes of Health Research Postdoctoral Fellow, Centre for Health Services and Policy Research, (University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia)