Board of Directors

The Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement (CFHI) and the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) are now legally amalgamated. We look forward to introducing our new organization to you in the coming months, along with ways we can work together to improve quality and safety. While we complete our amalgamation journey, we will continue to operate as CPSI and CFHI.

Meet the CEO >

The Senior Leadership Team will also be posted soon.


Ronald GuseMr. Ronald Guse, Co-chair
Former Registrar
The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba
St. Paul, Manitoba

Dr. R. Lynn Stevenson Dr. R. Lynn Stevenson, Co-chair
Former Associate Deputy Minister, Health Services
British Columbia Ministry of Health
Victoria, British Columbia

Mr. Martin Beaumont Mr. Martin Beaumont
President and CEO
Centre hospitalier universitaire (CHU) de Québec - Université Laval
Québec, Quebec

Jo-Anne Cecchetto Ms. Jo-Anne Cecchetto
ADM, Health Programs, Chief Nursing Officer
Department of Health & Social Services, Government of North West Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Mr. Vincent Dumez Mr. Vincent Dumez
Center of Excellence on Partnering with Patients and the Public (CEPPP)
Faculty of Medicine, Université de Montréal
Research Centre of the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CRCHUM)

Jeanette Edwards Ms. Jeanette Edwards
Strategic Lead
Shared Services, Community Health & Learning Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Dr. Petrina McGrath Dr. Petrina McGrath
Executive Director of Quality and Safety
Saskatchewan Health Authority
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Ms. Tammie Myles Ms. Tammie Myles
Mother Earth Whispers
Nanaimo, British Columbia

Blair O’Neill Dr. Blair O’Neill
Interventional and Preventative Cardiology, Professor of Medicine
Alberta Health Services
Edmonton, Alberta

Sue OwenMs. Sue Owen
Impreza Consulting
Burlington, Ontario

Mr. Erik Sande Mr. Erik Sande
Medavie Health Services
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Marcel Saulnier Mr. Marcel Saulnier
Associate Assistant Deputy Minister
Strategic Policy Branch
Health Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Dean Screpnek Mr. Dean Screpnek
ADM, Health Quality, Standards & Performance Division
Government of Alberta’s Department of Health
Edmonton, Alberta

The Board of Directors has invited external participants to join selected committees and working groups:

Finance, Investment & Audit Committee

Amanda Whitewood Ms. Amanda Whitewood
Chief Operating Officer
IWK Health
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Strategy Working Group

Heather Thiessen Ms. Heather Thiessen (Patient Partner)
Co-chair, Saskatchewan Health Authority Patient and Family Leadership Council
Patient Lead at Health Standards Organization and Accreditation Canada
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Linda Hughes Ms. Linda Hughes (Patient Partner) 
Past Co-chair, Patients for Patient Safety Canada
Winnipeg, Manitoba